Who Governs Intercity Transit?

Intercity Transit is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors, the Intercity Transit Authority. The Authority consists of five elected officials who represent the Thurston County Board of Commissioners and the Cities of Lacey, Tumwater, Olympia, and Yelm. Three members are Community Representatives appointed by the Board, and one member is a labor representative.

Except for the labor representative, board members represent, and must live in, the public transportation benefit area. A Community Representative's term is three years, and the elected officials serve at the pleasure of their respective mayors and Commissioners.

The Authority sets policy and direction for the agency.

Intercity Transit Authority Bylaws

View the meeting calendar and packets.

When does The Authority Meet?

The authority meets in the business office Board room.

Authority meetings: First and third Wednesdays, 5:30 p.m.
Special meetings: As needed.

Who May Attend Authority Meetings?

Authority meetings are open to the public. A public comment period occurs at each meeting shortly after the 5:30 p.m. start. Individuals may speak for three minutes. Speakers must sign in just prior to the start of the meeting. Please silence your cell phone or pager before the meeting.


Contact Pat Messmer 
Phone: 360-705-5860
Fax: 360-357-6184, fax
View the meeting calendar for agendas and meeting highlights.

Intercity Transit Authority

Photo Name & Title
Citizen Representative Justin Belk

Justin Belk - Vice Chair
Community Representative (Term expires 12/31/26)

Alternate Authority Representative on the Transportation Policy Board

Brian Hess, Councilmember City of Yelm

Brian Hess
Councilmember, City of Yelm


Councilmember Robin Vazquez, City of Lacey

Robin Vazquez
Councilmember, City of Lacey


Clark Gilman Councilmember, City of Olympia

Clark Gilman - Chair
Mayor Pro-Tem, City of Olympia


Don Melnick Citizen Representative Alternate Authority Representative on the Transportation Policy Board

Don Melnick
Community Representative (Term expires 12/31/24)

Authority Representative on the Transportation Policy Board

Alternate Authority Representative on the Thurston Regional Planning Council

Thurston County Commissioner Carolina Mejia

Carolina Mejia
Thurston County Commissioner


Image of Sue Pierce



Sue Pierce
Community Representative (Term expires 12/31/25)

Authority Representative on the Intercity Transit Pension Committee

City of Tumwater Mayor Debbie Sullivan

Debbie Sullivan
Mayor, City of Tumwater

Authority Representative on the Thurston Regional Planning Council

Labor Representative Mark Neuville

Mark Neuville
Labor Representative